Congratulations! State SMOB Candidates

10 January 2018
Comments: Comments Off on Congratulations! State SMOB Candidates

Congratulations!  The following four students have been named as finalists for the position of Student Member on the Maryland State Board of Education for the 2018-2019 school year.

•  Ruben Amaya, Franklin High School, Baltimore County Public Schools
•  Nata Assad, Wheaton High School, Montgomery County Public Schools
•  Bryce Awono, Parkdale High School, Prince George’s County Public Schools
•  Nina Huff, Meade High School, Anne Arundel County Public School

MASC member school voting delegations will have the opportunity to hear speeches and participate in a question/answer time before voting to select the two final candidates at the MASC Legislative Session, February 3, 2018.  The finalists will be forwarded to the governor of Maryland, who will appoint one as the student member to the State Board of Education for 2018-2019 (July 1 – June 30 term).

For details and to register to attend the Legislative Session, click here.

State SMOB News

2017-2018: Congratulations!  Kyle Smith (North Point High School, Charles County) was named by Governor Hogan as the 2017-2018 State Student Member on the Board of Education.

Kyle Smith was  sworn into office July 14, 2017, at the Charles County District Court.

Information about Kyle Smith:
• voter guide from Legislative Session (KyleSmithVoterGuide)

Comments are closed.