

## PRESS RELEASE

## Maryland Association of Student Councils Affiliated with the National Association of Student Councils

www.mdstudentcouncils.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## FOUR STUDENTS ELECTED AS 2024-2025 OFFICERS OF THE MARYLAND ASSOCIATION OF STUDENT COUNCILS

Officers to be sworn-in on May 18, 2024

(March 1, 2024) – Four Maryland students have been elected to serve as the 2024-2025 officers of the Maryland Association of Student Councils (MASC). This is the 74<sup>th</sup> anniversary of this organization.

## The Officers-Elect are:

- President Shradha Bista, North Hagerstown High School, Washington County
- 1st Vice President Madison Watts, Rockville High School, Montgomery County
- 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President Derrell Gross Plum Point Middle School, Calvert County
- Treasurer David Arowolo Eastern Technical High School, **Baltimore County**

As well as campaigning in person and on social media, the candidates gave speeches and participated in a question and answer period with 800 students during the second and third general assemblies at the annual Convention of the Maryland Association of Student Council (MASC).

Shradha Bista is the third student from Washington County elected to serve in this position. The prior Washington County students to serve were:

- 1961-62 Robert Pryor, North Hagerstown High School, Washington County
- 1967-68 Paul Knott, St. Maria Goretti High School (parochial), Washington County

Our future leaders are in today's classrooms. These students, representing the best our state's schools have to offer, are already leaders in their schools and communities.

###